SPCS Night

2022 Awards Ceremony

For the class of 2022, we hosted our first in-person SPCS Night awards ceremony since 2019. Award recipients, graduating students, staff and faculty and their guests, along with University partners and dignitaries, were invited to attend the ceremony.

Commencement Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Bearer: Dan Thigpen
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: Brittany Woo
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: Tonya Woodson
  • SPCS Banner Bearer: Ariyan Bakhti-Suroosh
  • Student Speaker: Kelly Lawler
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni: Duan Hobbs, C’13
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty: Linda Fisher Thornton

Academic Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction: Emily O’Laughlin
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: Eric Byers

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Scott Harris
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Lindsey Stagner

Information Systems

  • George E. Christopher and George W. Swartz Memorial Book Award: Antonio Balducci

IT Management

  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Jessica Cano

Liberal Arts

  • Kuehl Book Award in Recognition of Excellence in the Bachelor of Liberal Arts Program: Lucas Ecker
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts and Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Brittney Wright

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Julie Roller

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Zarea Hawkins

Master of Teaching

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. and Nancy B. Perry Book Award (grades K-6): Quinn DeBerry
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (grades 7-12): John Tivenan

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Grant Golden
  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Sharitka Giles
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Marco Thomas
  • Colonel (U.S.A., Ret.) Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Brooke Fazio
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Hani Assadi
  • Graduate Education Comprehensive Projects — Passed with Distinction: Eric Byers, Victoria Case, Alana Hayes, Charlotte Martin, Daniel McKinney and Matthew Murray

25-Year Service Medallions

  • John Alley, Adjunct Professor, Liberal Arts
  • Jada Banks, Adjunct Professor, Liberal Arts & HR Management
  • Dick Leatherman, Adjunct Professor, HR Management
  • Gene Maurakis, Adjunct Professor, Liberal Arts

If you'd like to learn more about these awards, review our Commencement Participants, Alumni Award, Faculty Awards, Student Awards and Academic Book Awards pages.

Follow SPCS on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram for special recognitions of these award recipients.

SPCS Night 2022 Program