Interior Decorating Professional Certificate

The Interior Decorating Professional Certificate program equips students with industry skills and knowledge to begin a career in the interior decorating field. The program consists of five modules and a capstone presentation.

Classes include foundational instruction in architecture, furniture and color theory. Students will also learn about materials, sourcing and industry specific business practices while also establishing fundamental business skills needed to be a successful interior decorator.

The program will culminate with a capstone decorating project of the students’ own design.

Modules

1. Foundations

Covers background knowledge in architecture and furniture styles and history as well as color theory, all key knowledge areas for successful interior decorating.

2. Materials

Offers practical knowledge of materials used in the industry including flooring, textiles, wall and window treatments and lighting.

3. Business Facets

Addresses fundamental knowledge and skills in the areas of business planning, finance, and the legal issues in establishing a business.

4. Business Tools

Presents the day-to-day knowledge needed to be successful in identifying marketing trends, sourcing materials, and using social media to boost your business.

5. On Site/Field Experience

Students will receive a full tour and application instructions from the owners of the Designers Market of Richmond.

Capstone Project

The program culminates with an independent decorating project using Home Design 3D to demonstrate knowledge and skills learned in the program. Each student will present their project to the teachers and students enrolled in the program.

Cost

This 6-month, 105-hour professional certificate costs $1,999. No application or application fee is required, and all texts, materials and supplies are included. Simply register online for the certificate program.

Registration

Register online for this program along with other Arts & Design classes.

2020-21 Schedule

The Interior Decorating Professional Certificate program has shifted to online instruction for the Fall 2020 cohort in response to the coronavirus. Review the schedule below for details.

Foundations

  • Tuesday, September 29, 2020: Introduction
  • Saturday, October 3: Finance/Accounting
  • Tuesday, October 6: Finance/Accounting
  • Tuesday, October 13: Principals & Elements of Design
  • Tuesday, October 27: Architecture & Furniture Styles
  • Tuesday, November 3: Color Theory & Paint
  • Tuesday, November 10: Color Theory & Paint

Materials

  • Tuesday, November 17: Lighting
  • Saturday, November 21: Textiles
  • Tuesday, December 1: Window Treatments
  • Saturday, December 5: Window Treatments
  • Tuesday, December 8: Soft Furnishings
  • Tuesday, December 15: Wall Treatments
  • Tuesday, December 29: Room Layout & Space Planning
  • Tuesday, January 5, 2021: Flooring
  • Tuesday, January 12: Case Good & Cabinetry

Industry Aspects

  • Tuesday, January 19: Field Visits, Capstone & Home Design 3D
  • Tuesday, January 26: Sourcing Materials
  • Tuesday, February 2: Styles & Trends

Business Tools

  • Tuesday, February 9: Business/Legal Process
  • Tuesday, February 16: Business/Legal Process
  • Tuesday, February 23: Marketing & Social Media
  • Saturday, February 27: Marketing & Social Media
  • Tuesday, March 2: BusinessPlanning
  • Tuesday, March 9: Closing the Deal

Project Presentations

  • Tuesday, March 16
  • Tuesday, March 23
  • Tuesday, March 30

Graduation

  • Saturday, April 3