SPCS Night 2024 awards ceremony stage

Outstanding students, faculty & alumni honored during annual SPCS Night awards ceremony

May 9, 2024

SPCS Commencement

The School of Professional and Continuing Studies continued its tradition of honoring excellence among students, faculty and alumni during its annual SPCS Night celebration on May 8, 2024. The celebration was held at the Modlin Center for the Arts with a reception that followed.

The School bestowed the following awards during the ceremony.

Commencement Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Bearer: Adam Parsons
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: Dwayne Orlando Dick
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: Elizabeth Plowman
  • SPCS Banner Bearer: Sharitka Giles
  • Student Speaker: Zariah Chiverton, ’22
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni: Annette Ardler, C’01
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty: Elisabeth Wray, W’74, G’74

Academic Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction: Lizzie Hayes
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: April Prentiss Page

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Elizabeth “Betsy” Thomas
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Stephen Alexander and Paradee Field

Information Systems

  • Christopher and Swartz Memorial Book Award: Natasha Feher
  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Nathan Reddick and Jody Trainham

Liberal Arts

  • Kuehl Book Award in Recognition of Excellence in the Bachelor of Liberal Arts Program: Shannon Cooke
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts and Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Faye Parker

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Melissa Haber

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Josephine Denny

Master of Teaching

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. and Nancy B. Perry Book Award (grades K-6): Reid McBride
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (grades 7-12): Matthew Nichol

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Courtney Forstmann
  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Jennifer Brooks
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Ryan Carlson
  • Colonel (U.S.A., Ret.) Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Kenneth André Davis
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Sanjin Harbas
  • Nonprofit Studies Graduate with Distinction: Rebecca Payne
  • Graduate Education Comprehensive Projects — Passed with Distinction: Kara Bleecher, Jackson Knox, Julie Rix, John Wilbert and Trupti Yates