Award winners standing with the dean
Faculty recipients of SPCS 5-year service awards for teaching: Laura Poe (on screen), Bob Spires, Daryl Jackson, Dana Jackson, Ryan Conway & Debbie Arco with Dean Jamelle Wilson.

Faculty promotions, awards announced during spring SPCS faculty meeting

January 17, 2024

SPCS Faculty Update

Faculty in the School of Professional & Continuing Studies celebrated promotion announcements and service awards during the annual awards ceremony held during the spring faculty meeting on January 10, 2024.

Associate Dean Tom Shields and Dean Wilson presided over the announcement of service awards, followed by Shields announcing the winner of the SPCS Innovations in Teaching Award, Adjunct Professor of Liberal Arts Daniel Hocutt.

The annual awards ceremony is traditionally held during the spring faculty meeting. Promotions in SPCS along with service awards in five-year increments are announced and celebrated during the ceremony. Promotions and awards are listed below.

SPCS Faculty Promotions

  • Lyle Evans was promoted to Adjunct Associate Professor of Education with additional appointments in HR Management and Nonprofit Studies
  • Bruce McKechnie was promoted to Adjunct Associate Professor of Paralegal Studies
  • Karen Richardson was promoted to Adjunct Associate Professor of Education

SPCS Faculty Service Awards

5 years of service

  • Debbie Arco
  • Ryan Conway
  • Lisa Donovan
  • Dana Jackson
  • Daryl Jackson
  • Deborah Napoli
  • Laura Poe
  • Amanda Shelton
  • Bob Spires

10 years of service

  • Lynda Kachurek

25 years of service

  • Rosalind Reilly

Newly Hired Adjunct Faculty Members

In addition to announcing awards and promotions, the following newly hired adjunct faculty members were announced: