Boatwright Library tower against the backdrop of a stunning sunset with orange wispy clouds

Faculty promotions, awards announced during spring SPCS faculty meeting

January 6, 2023

SPCS Faculty Update

Faculty in the School of Professional & Continuing Studies celebrated promotion announcements and service awards during the annual awards ceremony held during the spring faculty meeting on January 5, 2022.

Associate Dean Tom Shields and Dean Wilson presided over the announcement of service awards, followed by Shields announcing the winner of the SPCS Innovations in Teaching Award, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Paralegal Studies Bruce McKechnie.

The annual awards ceremony is traditionally held during the spring faculty meeting. Promotions in SPCS along with service awards in five-year increments are announced and celebrated during the ceremony. Promotions and awards are listed below.

SPCS Faculty Promotions

  • Joe Douglas was promoted from Adjunct Assistant Professor to Adjunct Associate Professor of Education.
  • Linda Fisher Thornton was promoted from Adjunct Associate Professor to Adjunct Professor of Human Resource Management.
  • Susan Wilkes was promoted from Adjunct Assistant Professor to Adjunct Associate Professor of Human Resource Management

SPCS Faculty Service Awards

5 years of service

  • Andrew Baker
  • Karen Carpenter
  • Kristine Chiodo
  • Abbi Haggerty
  • Kathleen Lynch
  • Donna Meeks
  • Kelly Merrill
  • Jan Nelson

10 years of service

  • Lynne Bland
  • Rob McAdams
  • Bud Watson

15 years of service

  • Deborah Carvelli
  • Maria Poindexter

20 years of service

  • George Hiller
  • David Kitchen
  • Liz Siebers
  • Linda Fisher Thornton
  • Chris Turpin

25 years of service

  • William Prior