Richmond Home

Interior Decorating Professional Certificate

The Interior Decorating Professional Certificate program equips students with industry skills and knowledge to begin a career in the interior decorating field. The program consists of five modules and a capstone presentation.

Classes include foundational instruction in architecture, furniture and color theory. Students will also learn about materials, sourcing and industry specific business practices while also establishing fundamental business skills needed to be a successful interior decorator.

The program will culminate with a field experience project with a professional interior decorator/designer and a capstone decorating project of the students’ own design.

Modules

1. Foundations

Covers background knowledge in architecture and furniture styles and history as well as color theory, all key knowledge areas for successful interior decorating.

2. Materials

Offers practical knowledge of materials used in the industry including flooring, textiles, wall and window treatments and lighting.

3. Business Facets

Addresses fundamental knowledge and skills in the areas of business planning, finance, and the legal issues in establishing a business.

4. Business Tools

Presents the day-to-day knowledge needed to be successful in identifying marketing trends, sourcing materials, and using social media to boost your business.

5. On Site/Field Experience

Students are paired with a mentor in the interior decorating field to gain practical experience.

Capstone Project

The program culminates with an independent decorating project using Home Design 3D to demonstrate knowledge and skills learned in the program. Each student will present their project to the teachers and students enrolled in the program.

Cost

This 6-month, 105-hour professional certificate costs $1,999. No application or application fee is required, and all texts, materials and supplies are included. Simply register online for the certificate program. Contact the program manager, Garrett Stern (804-289-8133 or gstern@richmond.edu), for financing options.  

Registration

Register online for this program along with other Arts & Design classes.

Schedule

The Interior Decorating Professional Certificate program is classroom-based. Classes meet Tuesdays from 6-9 p.m. and most Saturdays from 9 a.m.–12 p.m. Review the detailed schedules below.

Fall 2019 Schedule
Foundations
  • Tuesday, September 17: Introduction
  • Saturday, September 21: Elements of Design
  • Tuesday, September 24: Architecture & Furniture Styles
  • Saturday, September 28: Room Layout & Space Planning
  • Tuesday, October 1: Color Theory & Paint
  • Saturday, October 5: Color Theory & Paint
Materials
  • Tuesday, October 8: Lighting
  • Saturday, October 12: Wall Treatments
  • Tuesday, October 15: Textiles
  • Saturday, October 19: Windows
  • Tuesday, October 22: Windows
  • Saturday, October 26: Case Good & Cabinetry
  • Tuesday, October 29: Flooring
Business Aspects
  • Saturday, November 2: Internship, Capstone Project & Home Design 3D
  • Tuesday, November 5: Business Planning
  • Saturday, November 9: Finance/Accounting
  • Tuesday, November 12: Finance/Accounting
  • Saturday, November 16: Business/Legal Process
Business Tools
  • Tuesday, November 19: Marketing & Social Media
  • Saturday, November 23: Marketing & Social Media
  • Tuesday, November 26: Sourcing Materials
  • Tuesday, December 3: Styles & Trends
  • Saturday, November 7: Closing the Deal
Project Presentations
  • Tuesday, December 10
  • Saturday, December 14
  • Tuesday, December 17
Spring 2020 Schedule
Foundations
  • Tuesday, January 7: Introduction
  • Saturday, January 11: Elements of Design
  • Tuesday, January 14: Architecture & Furniture Styles
  • Saturday, January 18: Room Layout & Space Planning
  • Tuesday, January 21: Color Theory & Paint
  • Saturday, January 25: Color Theory & Paint
Materials
  • Tuesday, January 28: Lighting
  • Saturday, February 1: Wall Treatments
  • Tuesday, February 4: Textiles
  • Saturday, February 8: Windows
  • Tuesday, February 11: Windows
  • Saturday, February 15: Case Good & Cabinetry
  • Tuesday, February 18: Flooring
Business Aspects
  • Saturday, February 22: Internship, Capstone Project & Home Design 3D
  • Tuesday, February 25: Business Planning
  • Saturday, February 29: Finance/Accounting
  • Tuesday, March 3: Finance/Accounting
  • Saturday, March 7: Business/Legal Process
Business Tools
  • Tuesday, March 10: Marketing & Social Media
  • Saturday, March 14: Marketing & Social Media
  • Tuesday, March 17: Sourcing Materials
  • Saturday, March 21: Styles & Trends
  • Tuesday, March 24: Closing the Deal
Project Presentations
  • Saturday, March 28
  • Tuesday, March 31
  • Saturday, April 4

Contact Us

Special Programs Building
490 Westhampton Way
Univ. of Richmond, VA 23173
Phone: (804) 289-8133
Fax: (804) 289-8138
spcs@richmond.edu

Monday-Friday: 8:30am–5pm
Closed for University holidays