Richmond Home

School Committees & Teams

Committees play an important role in School function and governance. In addition to the School’s full-time faculty, the following committees and teams offer guidance to the School’s leadership and perform activities to implement policies and procedures.

SPCS Academic Council (2019-20)

The SPCS Academic Council governs approval of changes to academic programs.

B. Lewis Barnett (Arts & Sciences)
Associate Professor, Math & Computer Science

Susan Breeden*
University Registrar

Kate Cassada
Assistant Chair, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, SPCS

Gretchen Flynn Morris
Instructor of HRM; Director, Strategic Management for Academic & Student Services, SPCS

Lisa Hamiel*
Assessment Specialist, Office of Institutional Effectiveness

Natisha Harper
SPCS Library Liaison

Ann Hodges
Interim Chair, HR Management, SPCS

Crystal Hoyt (Leadership Studies)
Professor, Leadership Studies & Psychology

Melanie Jenkins*
Director, Office of Institutional Effectiveness

David Kitchen
Associate Dean, Professional Education & Special Programs, SPCS

Laura Kuti
Assistant Chair, Teacher Education, SPCS

Jeffrey Legro
Executive Vice President & Provost

Lionel Mew
Chair, Information Systems, SPCS

Deborah Napoli (Arts & Science)
Director, Clinical Practice, Education

Erik Nielson
Assistant Chair, Liberal Arts & Chair, MLA, SPCS

Dan Roberts
Chair, Liberal Arts, SPCS

Andrew Schoeneman
Chair, Nonprofit Studies, SPCS

Tom Shields
Associate Dean, Academic & Student Affairs & Chair, Graduate Education, SPCS

Joyce van der Laan Smith (Business)
Associate Professor, Accounting

Nathan Snaza (Arts & Sciences)
Director, Bridge to Success

Bob Spires
Assistant Professor, Education, SPCS

Porcher Taylor
Chair, Paralegal Studies, SPCS

Dionne Ward
Director of Internships, Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, SPCS

Clark Williams (Law)
Professor of Law

Jamelle Wilson
Dean, SPCS

* Ex-Officio Member (has no voting rights)

Attend as Observers
  • Kristen Ball, Registrar’s Office
  • Joel Hanel, SPCS

Membership can vary from year to year. Voting members include all full-time SPCS faculty/program chairs, all SPCS deans, and representatives from the other schools as follows:

  • 3 Representatives from the School of Arts and Sciences
  • 1 Representative from the E. Claiborne Robins School of Business
  • 1 Representative from the Jepson School of Leadership Studies
  • 1 Representative from the Richmond School of Law

One meeting per semester is generally scheduled unless 1) no meeting is required in a given semester or 2) more than one meeting is required to address ongoing academic program changes. The Assistant to the Dean schedules meetings and coordinates agenda items in collaboration with Council members.


Minutes of Academic Council meetings are made available to School faculty and staff upon request. Changes to academic programs and policies that are approved during Academic Council meetings are published in the upcoming academic year’s School catalog unless otherwise indicated.

SPCS Adjunct Faculty Advisory Commitee (2019-20)

The SPCS Adjunct Faculty Advisory Committee (AFAC) serves as a liaison between the School and the adjunct faculty. Membership is distributed across the School’s degree program areas as noted below. 

Associate Dean
Tom Shields, SPCS Liaison

Erik Laursen

Human Resource Management
Dick Leatherman

Information Systems
Bill Prior

Liberal Arts
Kevin Butterfield, Chair

Nonprofit Studies
Abbi Haggerty

Paralegal Studies
Bruce McKechnie

Contact Us

Special Programs Building
490 Westhampton Way
Univ. of Richmond, VA 23173
Phone: (804) 289-8133
Fax: (804) 289-8138

Monday-Friday: 8:30am–5pm
Closed for University holidays