Richmond Home

Advisory Boards & Groups

Volunteer advisory groups, including boards, circles and councils, play an important role in helping the School grow and develop in line with market trends and industry expectations. The following groups offer advice and guidance throughout the School. They also represent alumni and student groups in and beyond the School and University.

SPCS Alumni Association Board of Directors 2020-21
  • President: Duan Hobbs, C’13
  • Vice President: Annette “Nettie” Ardler, C’01
  • Secretary: Vacant
  • Treasurer: Deon Price, C’14
  • Past President: Margaret Dalton, C’12
  • Barbara Barlow, C’08, GC’16
  • Jason Brown, C’08
  • Calvin Callahan, GC’10
  • Fred Gatty, C’16
  • Robert Gentil, GC’14
  • Beth Ann Howard, C’05, GC’15
  • Benjamin Lyman, C’06
  • Tavorise Marks, C’18
  • Sabrina Mayo, C’17
  • Amy Myers, GC’19
  • Lynette Woolfolk, C’12
  • Cherie Wyatt, C’10
SPCS Dean's Ambassadors Circle (2020-21)

The SPCS Dean’s Ambassadors Circle (DAC) is a leadership committee comprised of dedicated and accomplished SPCS alumni, faculty, friends of the school and Richmond area leaders who enthusiastically support the mission, goals and programs of the School. DAC members are willing to donate their time, talents and resources to advance relationships between the School and public/private organizations and individuals in the Richmond community.

Drawing upon professional and leadership experiences, DAC provides support to the Dean and is dedicated to strengthening SPCS by advising on strategic direction, acting as ambassadors, raising the School’s profile in the community and strengthening community partners. DAC champions SPCS to continue excellence in continuing education and lifelong learning impacting the Richmond region.


Scott E. Strickler, C’87
Treasurer, Robins Insurance Agency, Inc.


Valerie J. Agnew, C’96, G’05
Sales Logistics Analyst, Altria Group Distribution Company

Jeannie Alcott, W’77
Executive Director, Richmond SHRM

Rob Allen, R’94, GB’03
Partner, Capstone Financial Partners

Dan (Woody) Aldredge, R’86, L’90, B’90
Managing Partner, Aldredge & Company

Eric Beatty, ’01, GC’12
Captain, University of Richmond Police Department

Steven D. Brown
Managing Partner, Richmond Office, Isler Dare

Lisa B. Cheney, C’16
Director of Donor Relations, Sheltering Arms Foundation

Catherine (Cathy) Eagles, C’00
Owner, Eagle Paralegal LLC

William Marshall Ervine
Environmental Engineer Consultant (Retired), Virginia Department of Environmental Quality

Mary Ramsey Evans, C’02, G’06
Adjunct Instructor of English (Retired), Reynolds Community College

Patricia H. Gallagher, C’97
Senior Vice President, SONA Bank

Connie E. Harvey, C’05, GC’04
Manager, Office of the Chairman, WestRock Company

Thornton (Tim) Hill
Realtor, Long & Foster Realtors

Linda (Lin) Koch, C’03
University of Richmond (Retired)

William Kuehl, C’73
Writer/Consultant & Managing Member, Keuhl & Keuhl, LLC

Christopher D. Lee
Chief Human Resources Officer, William & Mary

Charles Martin, Sr., C’71
Chief Financial Office & Board Member, Partners in HealthCare USA

Autumn Nabors, GC’11
Director of Curriculum & Instruction, City of Richmond Public Schools

Nick Serfass
Executive Director, RVATech

Matthew Steilberg
Senior VP, Retail Banking, C&F Bank

Charles K. Trible, C’68, L’71
Manager, Trible & Associates

University Representatives

Jamelle S. Wilson, Ed.D.
Dean, School of Professional & Continuing Studies

Education Advisory Board

The Education Advisory Board includes representatives from local school divisions, independent schools, program alumni, community organizations and community colleges.

Institute on Philanthropy Advisory Board (2020-21)

The Institute on Philanthropy (IOP) Advisory Board provides invaluable feedback, direction and leadership for the Institute. Members serve renewable three-year terms as advisors to help guide the Institute and address the most urgent strategic issue facing IOP each year.

IOP Advisory Board members are chosen because they are thought leaders in their fields representing a diverse knowledge base. Each brings different expertise to the table. Members are nominated and selected based on this criteria.

Dean Browell
Executive Vice President, Feedback Agency

L. Lee Byrd
Attorney, Sands Anderson

Heidi Crapol
Director, VCU Center for Urban Communities

Angela Cusack
CEO/Managing Princial, Igniting-Success

Ruth Modlin Ellett, CFRE
Modlin Ellett Associates

Cheryl Groce-Wright
Executive Director, Neighborhood Resource Center of Greater Fulton

Jaraad Hines
Executive Director, HineSight

Reshunda L. Mahone, CFRE
Vice President, Institutional Advancement, Virginia State University

Thomas Millisor, CFRE
Director of Business Services, UNOS

Danielle L. Ripperton, CFRE
Director of Development, Peter Paul Development Center

Laurie Rogers
Independent Grant Writer

David Thomason
Vice President, Advancement, Special Olympics Virginia

Osher Leadership Council 2020

The Osher Leadership Council takes an active role in shaping the work of the Institute, Members select topics for courses, recruit faculty, plan trips and gatherings, and lead project teams of Osher members for Curriculum, Development, Leader Support, Marketing, Membership and Newsletter.

If you are interested in serving on an Osher project team, please contact the office at (804) 287-6344 or by email.

  • Kay King, Chair
  • Colleen Anders, Vice Chair
  • Don Miller, Past Chair
  • John Bailey
  • Donna Callery
  • Christine Campbell
  • Rob Hafker
  • Becky Hudson
  • Celeste Miller
  • George Pangburn
Partners in the Arts Board of Advisors (2018-19)

The Partners in the Arts (PIA) Board of Advisors provides guidance to the PIA Director in collaboration with the Senior Associate Dean of the School of Professional & Continuing Studies. 

Michael C. Gettings, Chair
Instructional Specialist – Visual Arts, Chesterfield County Public Schools

Christie-Jo Adams
Fine Art Instructional Specialist, Richmond Public Schools

Sam Banks
Richmond Public Schools (retired)

Jordan Brown
Director of Adult Education, Visual Arts Center of Richmond

Irene Carney
Executive Director, Sabot at Stony Point School

Scott A. Garka
President, CultureWorks

Stephen A. Geyer
Assistant Superintendent of Instruction, Goochland County Public Schools

Tracey Ingle
English Instructional Specialist, Powhatan County Public Schools

Michael Kalafatis
Art Education Specialist, Henrico County Public Schools

Joan Oates
Founding Chair

Thomas J. Shields (ex-officio)
Associate Dean, School of Professional & Continuing Studies

Jennifer Stackpole
Lead Teacher Specialist – Art, Hanover County Public Schools

Contact Us

Special Programs Building
490 Westhampton Way
Univ. of Richmond, VA 23173
Phone: (804) 289-8133
Fax: (804) 289-8138

Monday-Friday: 8:30am–5pm
Closed for University holidays