Richmond Home

Beer Brewer Professional Certificate Class Schedules

Dates and times are tentative and subject to change. Any changes will be posted here and communicated by the instructor. Locations will be posted as confirmed and communicated to students via email.

Activities and dates in bold represent departures from the standard schedule.

Fall 2019 Cohort Schedule

Classes meet on Monday evenings unless otherwise noted. Most classes meet 6-9 p.m. Special activity dates are listed at the bottom of the table.

Module/Activity Date Time
1: History of Craft Brewing October 7, 2019 6-8 p.m.
1: History of Craft Brewing October 14 6-8 p.m.
2: Intro to Brewing Terminology October 21 6-9 p.m.
2: Intro to Brewing Terminology October 28 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients November 4 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients November 11 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients December 9 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients December 16 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process January 13, 2020 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process January 20 Rescheduled for February 17 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process February 3 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process February 10 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib February 24 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib March 2 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib March 9 6-9 p.m.
6: Intro to Safety & Sanitation March 16 6-9 p.m.
6: Intro to Safety & Sanitation March 23 6-9 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance April 6 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance April 13 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance April 20 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance April 27 6-8 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation May 4 6-9 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation May 11 6-9 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation May 18 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles June 1 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles June 8 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles June 15 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles June 22 6-9 p.m.
10: Intro to Sales & Events July 2 6-9 p.m.
10:Intro to Sales & Events July 13 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation July 20 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation July 27 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation August 3 6-9 p.m.

Special Dates

  • Old Bust Head Tour (part of Module 4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process): Saturday, January 11, 2020, 3 p.m.
  • Murphy & Rude Malting: March 2020 (TBD)
  • Three Notch’d RVA Collab House: June 2020 (TBD)
  • Certificate Ceremony: August 2020 (TBD), 3 p.m., Brown-Alley Room
Spring 2019 Cohort Schedule
Module/Activity Day Date Time
1: History of Craft Brewing Monday April 8, 2019 6-9 p.m.
1: History of Craft Brewing Monday April 15 6-9 p.m.
2: Intro to Brewing Terminology Monday April 29 6-9 p.m.
2: Intro to Brewing Terminology Monday May 13 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients Monday May 20 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients Monday June 3 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients Monday June 10 6-9 p.m.
3: Intro to Essential Ingredients Monday June 17 6-9 p.m.
4: Old Bust Head Tour (part of Intro to Brewing Tech & Process) Saturday June 22 3 p.m. 
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process Monday June 24 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process Monday July 1 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process Monday July 8 6-9 p.m.
4: Intro to Brewing Tech & Process Monday July 15 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib Monday July 22 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib Monday July 29 6-9 p.m.
5: Equipment, Maint, Packaging & Distrib Monday August 5 6-8 p.m.
6: Intro to Safety & Sanitation Monday August 12 6-9 p.m.
6: Intro to Safety & Sanitation Monday August 19 6-9 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance Monday August 26 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance Monday September 9 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance Monday September 16 6-8 p.m.
7: Quality Assurance Monday September 23 6-8 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation Monday September 30 6-9 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation Monday October 7 6-9 p.m.
8: Biology of Yeast & Fermentation Monday October 14 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles Monday October 28 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles Monday November 4 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles Monday November 18 6-9 p.m.
9: Intro to Beer Styles Monday November 25 6-9 p.m.
10: Intro to Outside Sales & Marketing Monday December 2 6-9 p.m.
10: Intro to Outside Sales & Marketing Monday December 9 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation Monday December 16 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation Monday January 6, 2020 6-9 p.m.
11: Licensing & Regulation Monday January 13 6-9 p.m.

Field Experiences

  • Old Bust Head Tour: June 22
  • Fine Creek Brew Day: Date TBD
  • Murphy & Rude Malting – Processing Malt: Date TBD
  • Väsen Brew Day: Date TBD

Additional Dates

  • 20-hour internship scheduled with brewery partners: January-March
  • Student projects due: March 27, 2020
  • Certificate ceremony: Early April 2020

Contact Us

Bobby Faithful, Specialist
Professional & Continuing Studies
Special Programs Building
490 Westhampton Way
Univ. of Richmond, VA 23173

Phone: (804) 289-8133
Fax: (804) 289-8138
bfaithfu@richmond.edu