Shimmering diamond shapes and colors

Outstanding students, faculty & alumni honored during 60th Anniversary SPCS Night awards ceremony

May 4, 2023

SPCS Commencement

The School of Professional and Continuing Studies continued its tradition of honoring excellence among students, faculty and alumni during its 60th Anniversary SPCS Night celebration on May 3, 2023. The celebration was held at the Modlin Center for the Arts with a reception that followed.

The School bestowed the following awards during the ceremony.

Commencement Awards

  • Richard W. Leatherman, Sr., and Ida Mae Leatherman Mace Bearer: Elisa de la Vega Ricardo
  • U.S. Flag Bearer: Rich Bottone
  • University of Richmond Flag Bearer: José P. Hermosilla
  • SPCS Banner Bearer: Ana Reilly
  • Student Speaker: Winston Mugford
  • Gibb Family Distinguished Alumni: Deon Price, C’14
  • Itzkowitz Family Distinguished Adjunct Faculty: Abbi Haggerty

Academic Book Awards


  • James W. Lanham Award for Excellence in Curriculum and Instruction: Molly Morgan
  • Catherine S. Fisher Award for Excellence in Educational Leadership: Parish Talley

Human Resource Management

  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Achievement: Stephany Becton
  • Steve Neal Book Award for Outstanding Graduate Achievement: Daisy Duitsman

Information Systems

  • Christopher and Swartz Memorial Book Award: Kasey Caras

IT Management

  • McDonald Davis Jr. Book Award: Brian Yauss

Liberal Arts

  • Kuehl Book Award in Recognition of Excellence in the Bachelor of Liberal Arts Program: Jordan McAdam
  • Daniel McDonald Roberts and Frances Taylor Roberts Master of Liberal Arts Memorial Book Award: Haylynn Gaunt

Nonprofit Studies

  • Louis J. Narduzzi Memorial Book Award: Kristen King

Paralegal Studies

  • William R. Marshall Jr. Memorial Book Award: Kaelyn Kessler

Master of Teaching

  • Samuel E. Perry, Jr. and Nancy B. Perry Book Award (grades K-6): Chaniece Williams
  • Ann C. Taylor Book Award (grades 7-12): Alyssa Sicard

Additional Awards and Honors

  • Jean H. Proffitt Student Service Award: Ebony Alexander
  • Elizabeth Spindler Scott Book Scholarship Award: Sasha E. Zerkin-Trickett
  • Taylor Kie Cousins Award for Service to the University Community: Hiniye Madelaine
  • Colonel (U.S.A., Ret.) Porcher L. Taylor, Jr., Ph.D. Book Award for Community Leadership: Cary Dickinson
  • Joanita Bbaale Senoga Book Award in Recognition of Academic Excellence by a Student Whose Native Language is not English: Chiyo Tokizawa and Rosio Esparza-Hoppe
  • Nonprofit Studies Graduates with Distinction: Bradley Kaplan and Rebecca Byrd Musser
  • Graduate Education Comprehensive Projects — Passed with Distinction: Gina Davis, Patricia Jessee, Daniel Payne, and Lyons Sanchezconcha

25-Year Service Medallion

  • William Prior, Adjunct Professor, Information Systems